Princeton pair leads list of 10 finalists announced for 2019 Senior CLASS Award

Mason Bergh (Colorado College-15) 2019 January 12 University of North Dakota hosts Colorado College in a NCHC matchup at the Ralph Engelstad Arena in Grand Forks, ND (Bradley K. Olson)
Colorado College’s Mason Bergh is one of 10 finalists for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award (photo: Bradley K. Olson).

Ten student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in the fall.

Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through April 8. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.

The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the Frozen Four.

Men’s Hockey Finalists

Chase Berger, Penn State
Mason Bergh, Colorado College
Erik Brown, RIT
Kyle Haak, Air Force
Tanner Jago, Bentley
Sasha Larocque, Ohio State
Chase Priskie, Quinnipiac
Jimmy Schuldt, St. Cloud State
Josh Teves, Princeton
Max Veronneau, Princeton

The 2018 winner was Notre Dame forward Jake Evans.