After guiding Cornell to ECAC Hockey women’s regular-season title, Derraugh garners National Coach of the Year laurels

Doug Derraugh (photo: Cornell Athletics)
Doug Derraugh has coached Cornell for 14 seasons (photo: Eldon Lindsay/Cornell Athletics).

For leading his team to the ECAC championship and into the semifinals of the NCAA national championship, Cornell’s Doug Derraugh has been chosen AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year.

It is the second such honor for Derraugh, who was previously recognized in 2010.

Cornell won both the regular-season title in ECAC Hockey, earning Derraugh his fourth ECAC Coach of the Year award. Through 14 seasons in Ithaca, N.Y., Derraugh has compiled a career record of 267-149-42. This is the fourth time he has led Cornell to the Frozen Four, the previous three times coming in consecutive years, 2010-2012.

A 1991 graduate of Cornell, Derraugh took over the Big Red program after a 13-year career playing professionally in Europe, seeing action with nine different teams in some of the top leagues in Norway, Germany, Austria and Finland. He scored more than 100 points in a season twice and posted 30 points or more 10 times. He ended his professional career with 257 goals and 347 assists in 637 professional contests.

While a student at Cornell, Derraugh played in all 119 contests for the Big Red over his four years, helping to lead the Big Red to an NCAA tournament appearance and a second-place finish in the ECAC as a senior co-captain. He led the team in scoring in his final season with 30 goals and 36 assists, earning second-team All-Ivy League and honorable mention All-ECAC honors. His 30 goals in the 1990-91 season are the most ever scored by a senior at Cornell. Overall, he ranks 10th all-time at Cornell in career scoring with 153 points on 66 goals and 87 assists.

A native of Arnprior, Ont., Derraugh graduated from Cornell with a degree in biological sciences.

Derraugh was assisted this season by Edith Racine, Dean Jackson and Louise Derraugh.

The runner-up for this year’s award is Northeastern’s Dave Flint.