UMass-Lowell Announces 30-Year Team

UMass-Lowell announced their 30th Year Anniversary Team to commemorate three decades of varsity hockey. The team will be honored during the final regular season home game on Saturday against Providence.

The program marked its beginning in 1967 when it formed a Division II team, became a powerhouse in the late seventies and moved into Division I in 1983-84. Players from all eras populate the 12-man squad.

Dwayne Roloson (1994 graduate) and Brian Doyle (’80) backstop the team.

Roloson, a 1993-94 Hockey East Player of the Year and Hobey Baker finalist, recorded 1,148 saves in 1992-93, still a school record. In his senior year he led UMass-Lowell to the Hockey East championship game and into overtime in the NCAA quarterfinals. He currently plays in the NHL for the Calgary Flames.

Doyle holds the Lowell career records for wins (74) and lowest goals against average (3.26). He ranks second with most wins in a season (25) and save percentage in a year (.905). Doyle backstopped the 1978-79 NCAA Division II championship team.

Paul Lohnes (’82), Bob Kearin (’73), Paul Ames (’87), and Ed Campbell man the anniversary team’s blue line.

Lohnes earned Division II Hobey Baker honors in his senior year after leading his team to its third NCAA championship in four years. A three time All-American, Lohnes remains the top-scoring defenseman in Lowell history with 58 goals and 109 assists, good for eighth place overall. The New England Hockey Writers Association named him the top defenseman in New England after his senior year.

Kearin represents the earliest player selected. He helped lead UMass-Lowell to its first-ever postseason appearance in the ECAC tournament in 1972. He holds school records for most shorthanded goals by a defenseman in both a game and a season. His four goals against Connecticut also stands as a school mark for defensemen.

Ames, a two-time All-Hockey East selection, scored 17 goals and added 57 assists during his career. As a senior, he led UML to 22 wins, good for their first second-place finish in the league.

Campbell, scored 20 goals to go with 71 assists in three years before signing with the New York Rangers. He holds the dubious school record for career penalty minutes (326).

All six forwards — Mike Carr (’83), Jon Morris (’88), Craig MacTavish, Greg Bullock, Dean Jenkins (’81), and Tom Jacobs (’79) — earned All-America honors at least once during their careers.

Carr won the 1983 Divison II Hobey Baker, giving the school back-to-back winners with Lohnes. His 134 goals, 145 assists and 279 points all rank as school records. In his senior year he led UMass-Lowell to a 29-2 record and earned All-America honors.

Morris trails only Carr with career marks of 97 goals, 134 assists, and 231 points. As a junior he earned All-America honors and a berth on the All-Hockey East team. Morris won the G. Harvey Chandler Award as the team’s top scorer in all four of his seasons.

MacTavish, winner of five Stanley Cups, totaled 62 goals and 71 assists in just two years. In 1978-79 he helped lead Lowell to its first NCAA championship. His 88 points that year — still a school record — earned him All-America honors.

Bullock registered 49 goals and 75 assists in his two years. After a Rookie of the Year season in 1993-94, he then added All-America and Hobey Baker finalist honors the following year. That year the New England Hockey Writers Association also named him top forward in New England.

Jacobs ranks third in career scoring, his 97 goals, 103 assists and 200 points surpassed only by Carr and Morris. His 42 goals during the 1978-79 NCAA championship season still stands as a school record. His 80 points that year is bettered only by MacTavish’s 88 and garnered him All-America honors.

Jenkins, a sophomore on the 78-79 squad, added another NCAA crown in 1980-81. He earned All-America honors as a junior and senior during which Lowell went 50-12. His 73 goals and 118 assists puts him fifth in career scoring.

The team was selected by a committee consisting of UML Director of Athletics Dana Skinner, Assistant Director of Athletics Tim Burton, Sports Information Director Jim Seavey, former head coach Bill Riley, former player and assistant coach Norm Bazin ’94, Assistant Athletic Trainer Artie Poitras, Tully Forum rink manager Don Lampron, Lowell Sun writer Chaz Scoggins, WLLH Radio Sports Director Bob Ellis, and former sports information director and current SID at Southern Maine B.L. Elfring.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here