Hockey East Announces 1996-97 All-Academic Team

Forty-one players were named to the 1996-97 Hockey East All-Academic Honor Roll, headed up by its Top Scholar-Athlete, four Distinguished Scholars, and a league-high eight players from Merrimack.

Boston University senior Shawn Ferullo earned the league’s Top Scholar-Athlete Award by compiling a grade point average of 3.91 in the school’s College of Arts and Sciences.

Hockey East also announced that four players had been named as Distinguished Scholars, the league’s highest academic honor. Receiving the award were Maine’s Dan Shermerhorn, UMass-Lowell’s Craig Lindsay, and Merrimack’s Rob Beck and Tom Johnson. To receive the award, a student-athlete must be named to the Honor Roll all four years of his career. Only 14 players have met this criteria in the award’s eight year history.

For the fifth consecutive season, Merrimack had more players named to the Honor Roll than any other Hockey East school. The Warriors placed eight players on this year’s team. UMass-Lowell was a close second with seven.

The complete list of honorees by school follows:

Boston College: Brian Callahan, Brad Carlson, Jeff Farkas, Joe Harney, Ryan Taylor.
Boston University: Shawn Ferullo, Dan Ronan.
Maine: Steve Kariya, Nils Satterstrom, Dan Shermerhorn (*).
UMass-Amherst: Gerry Cahill, Dan DiLeo.
UMass-Lowell: Shannon Basaraba, Chris Bell, Craig Brown, John Campbell, Neil Donovan, Craig Lindsay (*), Mike Nicholishen.
Merrimack: Rob Beck (*), Cris Classen, Karl Infanger, Tom Johnson (*), Casey Kesselring, Martin Laroche, Kris Porter, Darrel Scoville.
New Hampshire: Dan Enders, Jason Krog, Brian Larochelle, Mark Mowers, Chad Onufrechuk.
Northeastern: Judd Brackett, Arttu Kayhko, Brad Klyn, Brad Mahoney, Aaron Toews, Dmitri Vasiliev.
Providence: David Green, Dave Gunderson, Mark Kane.

(*) denotes recipients of the Distinguished Scholar award.

To qualify for the Hockey East All-Academic team, a player must record at least a 3.0 grade point average in each of the two semesters in which he played hockey. A total of 189 student-athletes have been named to the squad in the eight year history of the award.