ECAC Women’s Awards Announced

The ECAC Women’s League’s Player of the Year, Brandy Fisher, a senior forward from New Hampshire, has already set the ECAC single-season scoring record with 77 points this season, and needs just one more goal to reach the 40-goal plateau and set another ECAC mark.

Providence’s Jessica Tabb, named Rookie of the Year, led the Friars in scoring as her 30 points (15-15) ranked her second among freshmen in league scoring.

The winner of the Sarah Devens Award is a leader both on and off the ice, according to her head coach, George Crowe. Dartmouth’s Sarah Hood led the Big Green in scoring with 22-21–43. As a freshman, Hood played with Sarah Devens and the two became close friends. Devens taught Hood how to laugh at herself — according to Crowe, a lesson she will never forget.

Crowe was also named Coach of the Year as the Big Green, selected fifth in the preseason poll, finished third and spent the entire season as one of the nation’s top-ranked teams.

Fisher, Hood, Colby forward Meaghan Sittler and defenseman Courtney Kennedy, Northeastern defenseman Jaime Totten and Yale netminder Laurie Belliveau make up the first all-star team, while Ali Coughlin of Princeton, Melisa Heitzman and Nicole Luongo of UNH, Hilary Witt of Northeastern, Catherine Hanson of Providence and Ali Brewer of Brown are the second team.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here