UNH Grabs Top Hockey East Awards

Hockey East regular-season champion New Hampshire took the league’s top three 1998-99 individual awards, announced on Thursday at the Hockey East Awards Banquet at the Royal Sonesta Hotel in Cambridge, Mass.

Jason Krog, Darren Haydar and Richard Umile were all unanimous choices as the league’s Player, Rookie and Coach of the Year, respectively.

The Hockey East All-Star first team included forwards Krog, Steve Kariya (Maine) and Brian Gionta (Boston College); defensemen Jayme Filipowicz (New Hampshire) and David Cullen (Maine); and goaltender Michel Larocque (Boston University).

Named to the second team were forwards Haydar, Rejean Stringer (Merrimack) and Mike Omicioli (Providence); defensemen Mike Mottau (Boston College) and Anthony Cappelletti (UMass-Lowell); and goaltender Ty Conklin (New Hampshire).

Haydar led the All-Rookie Team, along with Conklin, Willie Levesque (F, Northeastern), Barrett Heisten (F, Maine), Greg Classen (F, Merrimack), Jim Fahey (D, Northeastern) and Peter Metcalf (D, Maine).

Kariya also earned the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award for an unprecedented third time.

UNH shared with Merrimack the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award, given to the squad with the fewest penalty minutes.

Wildcat defenseman Steve O’Brien also took the league’s newest award as the Old Time Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman. UMass-Lowell’s Doug Nolan was named the league’s Best Defensive Forward.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here