Recognized Again for Outstanding Coverage added to its recent hardware list when it was named winner of this year’s Murray Kramer/Scarlet Quill Memorial Award by the Boston University Athletic Department during its annual Hall of Fame Banquet.'s Dave Hendrickson and Scott Weighart accept the Scarlet Quill Award at the recent Boston University Hall of Fame Banquet.’s Dave Hendrickson and Scott Weighart accept the Scarlet Quill Award at the recent Boston University Hall of Fame Banquet.

The award, named in honor of Boston University’s first Sports Information Director, is presented to an individual or organization in recognition of outstanding media coverage or publicity of intercollegiate sports. The recipient is chosen by the Boston University Hall of Fame executive committee.

The award has been given annually since 1965 and becomes only the fourth whole organization to receive it, joining NESN, ESPN and Channel 7 in Boston. Hockey East Correspondent Dave Hendrickson and Boston University Game Reporter Scott Weighart accepted the award at the Hall of Fame Banquet.

Murray Kramer/Scarlet Quill Memorial Award Past Winners

2001 USCHO
2000 Susan Bickelhaupt/Barabara Huebner, Boston Globe
1999 Sean McDonough, FOX Sports/ABC-TV
1998 Doug Brown, WABU-TV
1997 Ed Carpenter, Boston University SID
1996 Bernie Corbett, BU play-by play, hockey and football
1995 Robert Gordon and Willl Meyl, WABU-TV
1994 Mitchell Freund, Sportschannel New England
1993 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1992 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1991 Briant Fitzgerald, B.U. Today
1990 Marvin Pave, Boston Globe
1989 Channel 7 Sports Department
1988 ESPN
1987 Mike Vega, Boston Globe
1986 New England Sports Network
1985 John Connolly, Boston Herald
1984 Jack O’Leary, Boston Herald
1983 Hill Kipouras, Salem Evening News
1982 Ted sarandis, WEEI Radio
1981 Vince Doria, Boston Globe
1980 Frank O’Brien, Boston Globe
1979 Dave O’Hara, Associated Press
1978 Ernie Roberts, Boston Globe
1977 Fran Rosa, Boston Globe
1976 Phil Bissell, Boston Herald-American
1975 Joe Giuliotti, Boston Herald-American
1974 Bob Monahan, Boston Globe
1973 Joe Concannon, Boston Globe
1972 Walter “Red” Smith, Syndicated Columnist
1971 Dick Dew, United Press International
1970 Jerry Nason, Boston Globe
1969 Roy Mumpton, Worcester Telegram & Gazette
1968 Cliff Sundberg, Boston Herald Traveler
1967 Murray Kramer, Boston Record-American
1966 Don Gillis, WHDH-TV
1965 Arthur Sampson, Boston Herald Traveler