Carosi, Meagher, Kretzman Earn NESCAC Honors

Senior forward Mike Carosi of Bowdoin has been named the 2001-02 NESCAC Men’s Hockey Player of the Year. Carosi, who led the Polar Bears to the second seed in the conference tournament, leads the NESCAC with 46 points on 13 goals and 33 assists.

Terry Meagher of Bowdoin was named the NESCAC Men’s Hockey Coach of the Year after leading the Polar Bears to a 14-2-3 league mark and a spot in the NESCAC championship semifinals.

Amherst forward Beau Kretzman was named the 2001-02 NESCAC Men’s Hockey Rookie of the Year and was also named to the all-conference second team. He finished the season with 25 goals and 19 assists for 44 points.

Three players from Middlebury earned first-team all-conference honors. Senior defenseman Matt Dunn and sophomore forward Kevin Cooper joined goaltender Christian Carlsson as first-team honorees. Dunn leads the conference in scoring among defensemen and leads the NESCAC with five game-winning goals. Cooper is the top scorer for the Panthers with 22 goals, second most in the conference, and 34 points. Carlsson, who was named to the second team last year, leads the conference with a 1.30 goals against average and a .929 save percentage.

Senior defenseman Brian Shuman of Bowdoin was named to the first team after anchoring the Polar Bear defense that allowed 1.78 goals against this season. Senior forward Mathew Greason of Trinity, a second-team all-conference selection last year, earned first-team accolades this year. He is the Bantams’ leading scorer for the second consecutive year with 10 goals and 17 assists for 27 points.

Complete awards roster:

First Team

F: Mike Carosi (Sr., Bowdoin)
F: Kevin Cooper (So., Middlebury)
F: Mathew Greason (Sr., Trinity)
D: Matt Dunn (Sr., Middlebury)
D: Brian Shuman (Sr., Bowdoin)
G: Christian Carlsson (Sr., Middlebury)

Second Team

F: Rob Gordon (Jr., Hamilton)
F: Beau Kretzman (Fr., Amherst)
F: Sean Starke (Jr., Bowdoin)
D: Ryan Constantine (Sr., Middlebury)
D: Craig Leger (Sr., Hamilton)
G: Geoffrey Faulkner (Sr., Trinity)

NESCAC Player of the Year
Mike Carosi, Bowdoin

NESCAC Rookie of the Year
Beau Kretzman, Amherst

NESCAC Coach of the Year
Terry Meagher, Bowdoin