ECACHL Wins Inaugural Commissioner’s Cup

The ECAC Hockey League claimed full ownership of the first-ever Commissioners’ Cup Series Wednesday evening (Jan. 12), as Dartmouth defeated New Hampshire 9-8 in the final Cup game for the ECACHL and Hockey East. The ECAC Hockey League entered the weekend knowing it had secured at least a tie for the Cup, as the league had a 5-1-0 record to No.2 Hockey East’s 4-2-0 mark.

Created by the commissioners from the nation’s six Division I ice hockey conferences, the Commissioners’ Cup Series awards points for various games played among the conferences. Each conference participates in seven designated contests, and the conference that amasses the most points through its seven games wins the Cup.

The ECAC Hockey League won the Cup with victories by Rensselaer (5-1 vs. Army), St. Lawrence (6-4 vs. Miami), Brown (2-1 vs. Minnesota-Duluth), Harvard (4-1 vs. Maine), Union (4-0 vs. Connecticut) and Dartmouth (9-8 vs. New Hampshire).

As of now, the ECACHL finishes the series with 12 points followed by Hockey East with 10. College Hockey America (with one game left) and the CCHA (with two games remaining) are tied for third with six points. The WCHA (one more game to go) is fifth with five points and Atlantic Hockey is sixth (series complete) with two points.

The Commissioners Cup will be presented to the ECAC Hockey League at its championship, played March 18-19 at the Pepsi Arena in Albany, N.Y.