Norwich’s McLean Wins Sid Watson Award

Kurtis McLean of Norwich University, the first four-time First Team All-American in NCAA Division III history, has been chosen the winner of the 2005 Sid Watson Award, presented to the Division III Player of the Year by the nation’s Division III head coaches. The 5-11, 175 pound native of Kirkland Lake, Ontario, has recorded 29 goals and 26 assists for 55 points in the team’s 26 games this season. He finished his starry carrer with totals of 118-94-212 in 114 games.

“Kurtis is a great citizen on and off the ice,” says Norwich head coach Mike McShane. “He is well respected by the fans, faculty, fellow students and administration. A ‘winner’ in every category, [Kurtis] is an honor student with a 3.0 G.P.A. He will be missed by all of us in the Norwich hockey family.”

Kurtis McLean is the first four-time first team All-American.

Kurtis McLean is the first four-time first team All-American.

As a senior, Kurtis became Norwich’s all-time goal scorer, breaking Keith Aucoin’s record, with 29 goals bringing his new record total to 118. He also logged 26 assists in 2004-05 for 94 career assists, which ranks him eighth on the school’s all-time list. His 212 career points moves him into third place on the school’ s all-time list. At the conclusion of the 2004-05 season, McLean was voted as the ECAC East Men’s Player of the Year for the second consecutive season and third time in four years.

This year, the finalists for the Sid Watson Award marked the strongest pool of candidates ever. Besides the 2004-05 winner, Kurtis McLean, other finalists included: three-time First Team All-American, Jason Deitsch, St. Norbert College; two-time First Team All-American and MIAC Player of the Year, Adam Hanna, St. John’s; First Team All-American and NESCAC Player of the Year, Gus Katsuras, Hamilton College; First Team All-American and NCHA Player of theYear, Michael Wiggins, UW-Superior; First Team All-American, Joseph Ori, Trinity College; Second Team All-American and ECAC West Player of the Year, Jimmy Sokol, Utica College; Second Team All-American, Brett Walker, SUNY-Geneseo; and Second Team All-American, Keith Detlefsen, Gustavus Adolphus.

The Sid Watson Award, previously known as the College Division Player of the Year Award, is chosen by the American Hockey Coaches Association. It is named in honor of the legendary Bowdoin College coach and three-time national Coach of the Year.