Holy Cross Big Winner At AHA Awards

Holy Cross picked up three awards from Atlantic Hockey and senior forward Tyler McGregor of Holy Cross was named the Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year.

McGregor tied for the league lead in points with 21 goals and 22 assists. In all games played McGregor collected 48 points (22-26–48).

Holy Cross’ Blair Bartlett was named the Best Defensive FOrward whil Rob Godfrey was named the Best Defensive Defensman by the league.

Bear Trapp of Sacred Heart was named the Atlantic Hockey Rookie of the Year and Army head coach Brian Riley was named the Coach of the Year in the other awards handed out.

As a freshman Trapp picked up 43 points (16-27–43), including seven game-winning goals and six power-play goals.

The Black Knights of Army finished fifth in the Atlantic Hockey standings after being picked to finish seventh in the preseason coaches poll. In Riley’s second season he finished with a 12-18-6 mark and lost an Atlantic Hockey quarterfinal in double-overtime to Bentley.

Holy Cross, Mercyhurst and Sacred Heart each placed two members on the All-AHA First Team, while Holy Cross also had two players on the Second Team.

Bentley had two players on the All-Rookie Team, while four other teams placed members on the All-Rookie Team.