Hockey Humanitarian Award Finalists Named

The Bank of New York Mellon Hockey Humanitarian Award has announced the 10 finalists for the 2009 award, presented annually to college hockey’s finest citizen. Four of the finalists were nominees last year; all are listed below in alphabetical order.

Ryan Adler#, Senior, Hobart College
Andrew Brolsma, Senior, Castleton State College
Greg Copeland, Senior, Marian University
Ethan Cox#, Junior, Colgate University
Missy Elumba#, Senior, Northeastern University
Eric Greene, Senior, SUNY Plattsburgh
Crysti Howser, Senior, Yale University
Jerad Kaufmann, Senior, University of Nebraska at Omaha
Jeff Lerg, Senior, Michigan State University
Dagney Willey#, Senior, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

# 2008 nominee

All 10 finalists will be interviewed by the Hockey Humanitarian committee; the 14th recipient of the Hockey Humanitarian Award will be named in a ceremony on Friday, April 10 at the Verizon Center in Washington, D.C., in conjunction with the 2009 NCAA Frozen Four.

The 2008 winner was Will Bruce of Williams College.

BNY Mellon Wealth Management, the Hockey Humanitarian Award’s signature sponsor, is among the nation’s leading wealth managers with more than two centuries of experience in providing investment management, wealth and estate planning, and private banking services to financially successful individuals, their families, family offices, business enterprises, charitable gift programs, and endowments and foundations. BNY Mellon Wealth Management ranks as one of the top 10 U.S. wealth managers with approximately $139 billion in private client assets and an expansive network of offices in 16 states and three countries.

More information about the Hockey Humanitarian Award, the 2009 schedule of events and information on past winners is available at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here