Princeton’s Kalemba Highlights ECAC Hockey Honors

Princeton junior goaltender Zane Kalemba headlined the ECAC Hockey awards, winning laurels as Player of the Year as well as the Ken Dryden Award as the league’s top goaltender and being named a first-team all-league selection.

Senior Matt Generous of St. Lawrence was named Best Defensive Defenseman and Cornell senior Tyler Mugford was named Best Defensive Forward.

Colgate junior David McIntyre, Cornell sophomore Riley Nash and Yale junior Mark Arcobello made-up the forwards on the all-ECAC Hockey first team and Union senior Lane Caffaro and senior Zach Miskovic of St. Lawrence earned first-team defensive honors.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Dartmouth’s Jody O’Neill.

Yale head coach Keith Allain was recipient of the Tim Taylor Award as Coach of the Year after guiding the Bulldogs to their first regular-season title since the 1997-98 season.

Kalemba was the ECAC Hockey leader in goals-against average (1.48) and save percentage (.944). The junior netminder anchored a Tigers defense which was tops in the league in scoring defense, allowing a league-low 40 goals. Kalemba posted a 14-7-0 record for a league second-best winning (.667) and recorded two shutouts.

O’Neill took home the league’s top rookie honor after becoming the Big Green’s starter in net early in the season. The freshman posted a goals-against average of 2.50 in logging the third-most minutes in league play among ECAC Hockey goaltenders. O’Neill recorded three shutouts in earning a record of 11-9-2.

Caffaro ranked first among league defensemen in overall points (7-11-18) in 22 games. He was tied for the goalscoring lead among defenseman in the league and ended his collegiate career as the ninth leading scorer in school history with 79 points. He finished with a +11 plus/minus rating in league action.

McIntyre was tied for second in scoring in conference play, registering 24 points on 13 goals and adding 11 assists in 22 games. The 13 goals, including two shorthanded, were tops among all players in league games.

Sophomore Nash led the Big Red in scoring in league play this season with 1.05 points per game. Nash netted eight goals and added 15 helpers in 22 games. Nash helped spearhead Cornell’s power play, where 13 of his points were generated.

Arcobello netted four game-winning goals in 22 games. The junior was tied for second in overall scoring in league action with 11 goals and 13 assists for 24 points. Five of his 11 goals were of the power-play variety, which tied him for the league lead.

Earning Coach of the Year honors for the first time, Allain guided the Bulldogs to its third consecutive improved season. Behind the bench, Allain led Yale to 15 league, tied for the second-most in team history.

The league also recognized its top rookies, with O’Neill leading the way on the six-man list. Teammate Doug Jones, Yale’s Brian O’Neill and Patrick Cullen from Rensselaer were the all-rookie team forward selections, while Cornell’s Keir Ross and Brown’s Jeff Buvinow were the defensive picks.

Rookie of the Year – Jody O’Neill, Dartmouth
Best Defensive Forward – Tyler Mugford, Cornell
Best Defensive Defenseman – Matt Generous, St. Lawrence
Coach of the Year – Keith Allain, Yale

First Team All-ECAC

G Zane Kalemba, Princeton
D Lane Caffaro, Union
D Zach Miskovic, St. Lawrence
F Mark Arcobello, Yale
F Riley Nash, Cornell
F David McIntyre, Colgate

Second Team All-ECAC

G Ben Scrivens, Cornell
D Tom Dignard, Yale
D Brendon Nash, Cornell
F Sean Backman, Yale
F Bryan Leitch, Quinnipiac
F Colin Greening, Cornell

Third Team All-ECAC

G Alec Richards, Yale
D Alex Biega, Harvard
D Jody Peterson, Princeton
F Brock McBride, St. Lawrence
F Broc Little, Yale
F Adam Presizniuk, Union

All-Rookie Team

G Jody O’Neill, Dartmouth
D Jeff Buvinow, Brown
D Keir Ross, Cornell
F Patrick Cullen, Rensselaer
F Doug Jones, Dartmouth
F Brian O’Neill, Yale


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here