AHCA announces 2011 award winners

The American Hockey Coaches Association has announced its major award winners for 2011 and college connections abound.

Former St. Thomas coach Terry Skrypek, who retired last summer, was named the John MacInnes award winner for his longtime support of amateur hockey and youth programs.

The Terry Flanagan Award went to Rochester Institute of Technology assistant coach Brian Hills. The Flanagan award honors an assistant coach’s career body of work.

Former Princeton player and coach Laura Halldorson was named the Women’s Ice Hockey Founders Award winner for her contributions to the growth and development of the game.

A new award this year, the Women’s Ice Hockey Assistant Coach Award, was won by Princeton assistant Amy Bourbeau.

Other award winners include Chris Gurry of Phillips Academy Andover (John Mariucci Award), writer Virg Foss of the Grand Forks Herald (Jim Fullerton Award), Bruce Johnson of Robbinsdale (Minn.) High School (John “Snooks” Kelley Founders Award) and Kush Sidhu of the Washington Pride (Joe Burke Award).

The honorees will be presented with the awards at the 2011 AHCA Convention April 28-May 1 in Naples, Fla.