Niagara’s Zanette gets Atlantic Hockey player of the year nod

Niagara senior forward Paul Zanette was named Atlantic Hockey player of the year at the league’s annual awards banquet Thursday.

The Nobleton, Ontario, native had 55 points overall (29 goals, 26 assists) including 43 points in conference play, tops in the league.

Newcomers Niagara and Robert Morris placed four players on the all-AHA first team. Joining Zanette were teammate Bryan Haczyk (forward) as well as Robert Morris’ Nathan Longpre (forward) and Denny Urban (defense). Air Force defenseman Scott Mathis and Rochester Institute of Technology goaltender Shane Madolora rounded out the first team.

Mercyhurst forward Taylor Holstrom was named rookie of the year. Holstrom recorded 28 points in conference play.

Holy Cross coach Paul Pearl was named coach of the year. His Crusaders were picked to finish eighth in the league at the beginning of the season, but ended the regular season on an 11-game unbeaten streak to finish third.

All-AHA first team

F Bryan Haczyk, sr., Niagara
F Nathan Longpre, sr., Robert Morris
F Paul Zanette, sr., Niagara
D Scott Mathis, jr., Air Force
D Denny Urban, sr., Robert Morris
G Shane Madolora, so., RIT

All-AHA second team

F Tyler Brenner, jr., RIT
F Cory Conacher, sr.,Canisius
F Jacques Lamoureux, sr., Air Force
D Marcel Alvarez, jr., Army
D Chris Saracino, so., RIT
G Ryan Zapolski, sr., Mercyhurst

All-AHA third team

F Andrew Favot, sr., RIT
F Cody Omilusik, sr., Army
F Scott Pitt, sr., Mercyhurst
D Tim Kirby, jr., Air Force
D Ryan Annesley, sr., Niagara
D Jeff Terminesi, sr., Mercyhurst
G Brooks Ostergard, jr., Robert Morris

All-rookie team

F Taylor Holstrom, Mercyhurst
F Ryan Rashid, Niagara
F Cole Schneider, Connecticut
D Jeffrey Reppucci, Holy Cross
D Adam McKenzie, Air Force
G Jason Torf, Air Force

Player of the year: Paul Zanette, Niagara

Rookie of the year: Taylor Holstrom, Mercyhurst

Coach of the year: Paul Pearl, Holy Cross

Best defensive forward:Rob Linsmayer, Holy Cross

Best defenseman: Denny Urban, Robert Morris

Individual sportsmanship award: Furman South, Robert Morris

Team sportsmanship award: Air Force

Regular-season scoring trophy: Paul Zanette, Niagara

Regular-season goaltending trophy: Shane Madolora, RIT

Regular-season champions: RIT