ECAC announces women’s award winners; Cornell’s Jenner named top player

The ECAC announced the recipients of the league’s annual postseason awards at its women’s banquet held at Cornell on March 8.

Junior forward Brianne Jenner earned player of the year honors, while teammate Lauriane Rougeau took home best defensive defenseman honors and Doug Derraugh was named coach of the year.

Clarkson has a pair of award winners as Erin Ambrose was named rookie of the year and Erica Howe earned the goaltender of the year award.

Harvard’s Kalley Armstrong was named best defensive forward and Yale’s Alyssa Zupon was presented the Mandi Schwartz student-athlete of the year honor.

Quinnipiac picked up the Turfer Athletic trophy as well.

In addition, the league announced All-League First, Second and Third teams and an All-Rookie Team.

2013 ECAC First Team All-League

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Kelly BabstockFJr.Quinnipiac
Jillian DempseyFSr.Harvard
Brianne JennerFJr.Cornell
Amanda BoulierDSo.St. Lawrence
Lauriane RougeauDSr.Cornell
Erica HoweGJr.Clarkson

2013 ECAC Second Team All-League

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Jamie Lee RattrayFJr.Clarkson
Kelly SabatineFSr.St. Lawrence
Jillian SaulnierFSo.Cornell
Erin AmbroseDFr.Clarkson
Regan BoultonDSr.Quinnipiac
Victoria VigilantiGSr.Quinnipiac

2013 ECAC Third Team All-League

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Lyndsey FryFJr.Harvard
Nicole KostaFSo.Quinnipiac
Carly MercerFJr.Clarkson
Sarah EdneyDSo.Harvard
Laura FortinoDSr.Cornell
Lauren SlebodnickGJr.Cornell

2013 ECAC All-Rookie Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Alexa GruschowFFr.Rensselaer
Abbey McRaeFFr.St. Lawrence
Laura StaceyFFr.Dartmouth
Erin AmbroseDFr.Clarkson
Cassandra PoudrierDFr.Cornell
Emerance MaschmeyerGFr.Harvard