NCAA Division III men’s tournament field of 11 announced

The NCAA Division III field of 11 men’s teams for the 2014 NCAA tournament was announced Sunday night.

Seven conferences have been awarded an automatic bid, while the remaining four teams are at-large teams.

Three first-round games (March 12) and four quarterfinal games (March 15) are to be played on the campuses of the participating schools. The four quarterfinal winners will advance to Lewiston, Maine, at the Androscoggin Bank Colisée for the semifinal and championship games from March 21-22.

The event will be hosted by Bowdoin and the Maine Sports Commission.

Babson (ECAC East), Nichols (ECAC Northeast), Salem State (MASCAC), St. Thomas (MIAC), Bowdoin (NESCAC), St. Norbert (NCHA) and Oswego (SUNYAC) earned the auto-bids.

Adrian, Geneseo, Wisconsin-Stevens Point and Norwich enter the field as the four at-large selections.

In 2013, Wisconsin-Eau Claire won the D-III national title with a 5-3 win over Oswego at the Herb Brooks Ice Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y.