Two returning finalists among 28 nominees for 2015 Mike Richter Award

Minnesota’s Adam Wilcox is one of two returning finalists that were nominated for the 2015 Mike Richter Award (photo: Jim Rosvold).

A pair of returning finalists and five other players who were nominated last season are among 28 player announced Friday as nominees for the 2015 Mike Richter Award for the nation’s top Division I men’s goaltender.

Minnesota’s Adam Wilcox and Northeastern’s Clay Witt are back after being named finalists last season, when Massachusetts-Lowell’s Connor Hellebuyck was the inaugural winner.

Boston College’s Thatcher Demko, Providence’s Jon Gillies, Michigan State’s Jake Hildebrand, Ferris State’s CJ Motte and Union’s Colin Stevens were nominated last year as well.

Here are the 2015 nominees:

Michael BitzerBemidji StateFr
Thatcher DemkoBoston CollegeSo
Charlie FinnColgateSo
Michael GarteigQuinnipiacJr
Mitch GilliamCornellSo
Jon GilliesProvidenceJr
Matt GinnHoly CrossSr
Carmine GuerrieroAlabama-HuntsvilleSo
Kyle HaytonSt. LawrenceFr
Jake HildebrandMichigan StateJr
Charlie LindgrenSt. Cloud StateSo
Alex LyonYaleSo
Olivier ManthaAlaska-AnchorageFr
Ryan MassaOmahaSr
Zane McIntyreNorth DakotaJr
CJ MotteFerris StateSr
Rob NicholsConnecticutSo
Matt O’ConnorBoston UniversityJr
Steve PerryClarksonSo
Cal PetersenNotre DameFr
Jamie PhillipsMichigan TechJr
Mike SantaguidaVermontSo
Colin StevensUnionSr
Rasmus TirronenMerrimackSr
Adam WilcoxMinnesotaJr
Jay WilliamsMiamiJr
Stephon WilliamsMinnesota StateJr
Clay WittNortheasternSr

The nominees were chosen by head coaches of the 59 Division I men’s teams. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and media members, and the finalists will be announced on March 18.

Candidates must meet five criteria:

• Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice

• Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university

• Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship

• Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season

• Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

The award is presented by Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here