Twenty goalies named to Mike Richter Award watch list for 2015-16 season

Quinnipiac senior goalie Michael Garteig was a Mike Richter Award nominee in 2015 and is on the watch list for the 2015-16 season (photo: Matt Dewkett).

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation on Thursday identified the top 20 goaltenders named to their watch list for the 2016 Mike Richter Award.

The award is given annually to the top goalie in NCAA Division I hockey.

Massachusetts-Lowell’s Connor Hellebuyck won the inaugural award in 2014 and Zane McIntyre from North Dakota took home the honors this past spring.

Player's NameClassSchool
Jayson ArgueSo.Bentley
Michael BitzerSo.Bemidji State
Tommy BurkeSr.Bowling Green
Evan CowleyJr.Denver
Thatcher DemkoJr.Boston College
Charlie FinnJr.Colgate
Michael GarteigSr.Quinnipiac
Mitch GillamJr.Cornell
Carmine GuerrieroJr.Alabama-Huntsville
Kyle HaytonSo.St. Lawrence
Jake HildebrandSr.Michigan State
Dalton IzykJr.Robert Morris
Kasimir KaskisuoSo.Minnesota-Duluth
James KrugerSr.Dartmouth
Charlie LindgrenJr.St. Cloud State
Alex LyonJr.Yale
Jamie PhillipsSr.Michigan Tech
Mike SantaguidaJr.Vermont
Danny TironeSo.New Hampshire
Jay WilliamsSr.Miami

Hayton, Hildebrand, Lyon and Phillips were finalists in 2015, while Bitzer, Demko, Finn, Garteig, Gillam, Guerriero, Lindgren, Santaguida and Williams were nominees last year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here