Joe Concannon Award boasts 22 ‘worthy’ semifinalists for 2016 honor

Babson goaltender Jamie Murray won the 2015 Joe Concannon Award and is a semifinalist for the honor again in 2016 (photo: Babson Athletics).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president has announced the 22 semifinalists for the sixteenth Joe Concannon Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England at the NCAA Division II/III level.

This year’s list is made up of 12 forwards, six defensemen and four goaltenders, including last year’s winner, Jamie Murray from Babson. The candidates include seven players from the NEHC, six from the ECAC Northeast, five from the MASCAC, three from the NESCAC and one from the NE-10.

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Connor BatesFJr.Johnson and Wales
Tyler BeasleyFSr.Nichols
Brandon BeteFSr.Assumption
Tyler BishopDJr.Massachusetts-Boston
Gordon CaesarGSr.Plymouth State
Ryan ColeFSr.Trinity
Frankie DeAugustineFSr.Massachusetts-Boston
Trevor FleurentFSr.University of New England
Brad JonesDJr.Salem State
Sean KavanaughDSr.Tufts
Alex LarsonGSr.Nichols
Matt LemireFSr.Massachusetts-Boston
Zander MasucciDSr.Williams
Cam MonizFSr.Salem State
Jamie MurrayGSr.Babson
Tyler PiacentiniFJr.Norwich
Alex PompeoDSr.Salve Regina
Justin SelepFSr.Suffolk
Mike VollminDSr.Babson
Parker WoodFFr.Endicott
Josh WoodyFSr.Plymouth State
Marcus ZelzerGJr.Salem State

“The continued expansion and growth at the D-II and III levels have made it necessary to broaden our scope of recognition,” said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello in a news release. “This list reflects the high level of play found across the region. Our committee believes that the level of play and increased number of teams merited expanding our list of candidates over those of prior years. All semifinalists are worthy. That definitely creates a challenge for the committee to pick the winner from the players nominated.”

The Gridiron Club expects to announce the finalists and winner of the award in March, prior to the start of the NCAA Division III Frozen Four, and to formally present the award during the New England Hockey Writers dinner in April.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here