Geneseo and Brockport split SUNYAC regular-season individual awards

Stephen Collins was Geneseo’s offensive catalyst in 2015-16 (photo: Dan Hickling).

The SUNYAC announced its top individual awards Wednesday, in addition to three All-Conference Teams.

The conference’s player of the year is Geneseo junior forward Stephen Collins, who tallied nine goals and 21 points in 16 SUNYAC games in 2015-16.

Geneseo’s Chris Schultz earned coach of the year honors after guiding the Knights to a 15-4-6 mark and a 9-2-5 record in SUNYAC games, good for third in league standings. The award is the fourth for Schultz.

Brockport senior defenseman Chad Cummings is the defensive player of the year. Cummings fashioned five goals among 16 points and also registered 11 blocked shots this season.

Freshman forward Tim Kielich, also from Brockport, was named rookie of the year. He posted 19 points in 16 SUNYAC games.

2015-16 All-SUNYAC First Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Chase NieuwendykFSr.Brockport
Stephen CollinsFSr.Geneseo
Trevor HillsFJr.Geneseo
Pat CondonDSo.Geneseo
Rich BottingDSr.Plattsburgh
Mike DeLaVergneGJr.Buffalo State

2015-16 All-SUNYAC Second Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Ryan SalkeldFSr.Buffalo State
Shawn HulshofFJr.Oswego
Connor GormanFSr.Plattsburgh
Chad CummingsDSr.Brockport
Chris TaffDSo.Plattsburgh
Spencer FinneyGSr.Plattsburgh

2015-16 All-SUNYAC Third Team

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Taylor PryceFJr.Buffalo State
Dillon FoxFSr.Plattsburgh
Dylan Vander EschFSo.Potsdam
Chris LukerDSr.Brockport
Stephen JohnsonDJr.Oswego
Devin McDonaldGFr.Geneseo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here