Denver’s Montgomery gets Spencer Penrose Award as top Division I men’s coach

Jim Montgomery is the fourth Denver coach to win the Spencer Penrose Award (photo: Melissa Wade).

Denver’s Jim Montgomery was named Tuesday the winner of the Spencer Penrose Award as the Division I men’s hockey coach of the year.

Montgomery, who led the Pioneers to the Frozen Four for the second straight year and to the top overall seed in the NCAA tournament, will receive the award from the American Hockey Coaches Association on April 26 in Naples, Fla.

Denver is 31-7-4 entering the national semifinals against Notre Dame on Thursday in Chicago.

The Pioneers won the NCHC regular season championship and advanced to the Frozen Four by beating Michigan Tech and Penn State in the Midwest Regional.

Montgomery, a 1993 national champion as a player at Maine, is 100-47-18 in his fourth season coaching at Denver.

He’s the fourth Denver coach to win the award, joining Murray Armstrong in 1961, Ralph Backstrom in 1986 and George Gwozdecky in 2005.

Harvard’s Ted Donato was the runner-up.