Hockey East commissioner Bertagna to be enshrined into ECAC Hall of Fame

Joe Bertagna - The University of Massachusetts Lowell River Hawks defeated the Providence College Friars 2-1 at 12:27 of the third overtime in their Hockey East semi-final meeting on Friday, March 18, 2016, at TD Garden in Boston, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
The 2017-18 season marks Joe Bertagna’s 21st with Hockey East and he is the longest serving commissioner in Hockey East and the NCAA (photo: Melissa Wade).

Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna will be inducted into the ECAC Hall of Fame on May 4, alongside seven other individuals and one team of distinction.

The class of 2018 was announced by the ECAC Hall of Fame committee.

“I am pleased and honored to be recognized by the ECAC,” said Bertagna in a statement. “I spent two full decades in ECAC Hockey, as a player, a coach and an administrator. Scotty Whitelaw and Clayt Chapman were my first mentors, two great men who set examples and provided a blueprint for me as I began my own career in athletic administration.

“Being recognized alongside my friends Mark Fusco and Pat Henry will make the occasion even more enjoyable for me.”

The ECAC Hall of Fame Class of 2018 also includes Lauren Anderson (administrator/University of Rhode Island), Don DiJulia (administrator/Saint Joseph’s University), Royce Flippin (administrator/Princeton University/Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Mark Fusco (athlete/Harvard hockey), Patricia Henry (administrator/Harvard University), Kim Kryscnski-Marino (athlete/Stockton University indoor/outdoor Track), Joy Solomen (administrator/Rowan University) and the 1947 Holy Cross men’s basketball team.

The annual ceremony will take place on Friday, May 4 at the Crowne Plaza in Danbury, Conn.

Bertagna is currently in his 36th year as a college hockey administrator. This season marks his 21st year with Hockey East, after serving in a similar capacity with the ECAC for 15 years. He is the longest serving commissioner in Hockey East history and is currently the longest serving hockey commissioner in the NCAA.

In September of 2016, Hockey East directors extended Bertagna’s contract through the 2019-20 season as a direct response to a number of triumphs for the conference, including a successful hosting of the 2015 NCAA Frozen Four in Boston, a new television contract, multiple sold-out events at Fenway Park, and the addition of the University of Connecticut to the conference membership.