Wisconsin defeats Minnesota to win first national championship since 2011

 ((c)2018 Matt Dewkett)
Caitlin Schneider of Wisconsin takes a shot on Alex Gulstene during the national championship game. ((c)2018 Matt Dewkett)

Behind a goal by Sophie Shaver and a short-handed strike from Annie Pankowski, the Wisconsin Badgers blanked Minnesota, 2-0, claiming the program’s first national championship since 2011. In doing so, they defeated the last two teams to beat them in the national championship (Clarkson, 2017; Minnesota, 2012). Stay tuned for a full recap and a feature from Hamden, Connecticut.