Boston College’s York earns induction into Hockey Hall of Fame class of 2019

Jerry York (BC - Head Coach) speaks to Barry Almeida (BC - 9) during a break in action. - The Boston College Eagles defeated the Merrimack College Warriors 4-2 to give Head Coach Jerry York his 900th collegiate win on Friday, February 17, 2012, at Kelley Rink at Conte Forum in Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
Jerry York speaks to Barry Almeida during a break in action during BC’s 4-2 win over Merrimack on Feb. 17, 2012, giving York his 900th collegiate win (photo: Melissa Wade).

Boston College’s Jerry York, the winningest coach in college hockey history, has been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The 2019 induction will be held on Monday, Nov. 18, at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto.

York becomes the fifth NCAA coach to earn the honor, joining Lou Lamoriello (2009), Herb Brooks (2006), Bob Johnson (1992) and John Mariucci (1985). York will be inducted along with five other honorees: Guy Carbonneau, Hayley Wickenheiser, Sergei Zubov, Vaclav Nedomansky and Jim Rutherford.

York has won five national titles and posted 1,067 victories in his nearly five decades as a Division I head coach at Clarkson, Bowling Green and Boston College. This past season, he won his 600th game at BC, becoming just the fifth Division I coach to win 600 games at the same institution.

In 25 seasons at his alma mater, York has led the Eagles to four NCAA titles, 12 Frozen Fours and nine Hockey East tournament championships. The all-time leader in NCAA tournament victories with 41, York collected his fourth Hockey East Coach of the Year Award in 2018.

He has seen 18 of his players selected in the first round of the NHL Draft, including a program-record three last weekend in Vancouver. His former players have combined to win 10 Stanley Cups, and forwards Johnny Gaudreau and Cam Atkinson were both named NHL All-Stars this past season.