Drury Named New England MVP by Hockey Writers

Chris Drury was named Most Valuable Player and Best Forward in New England by the New England Hockey Writers.

Drury, an All-America center from Boston University and runner-up for the Hobey Baker Award, was voted as the recipient of the Leonard M. Fowle Award as New England’s Most Valuable Player and the Herb Gallagher Plaque as New England’s Best Forward. Drury led BU with 38 goals and 62 points this season.

Drury also received the Walter Brown Award by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston as New England’s top American-born collegiate player. This marks the fifth straight year that a player from BU has been given this honor.

The writers also honored a number of others with awards given out at their annual banquet on April 8.

Boston University defensemen Jon Coleman was tabbed as New England’s Best Defenseman. Coleman, a First Team All-America selection, finished the season with five goals and 32 points.

Mike Mottau, freshman defenseman for Boston College, is the recipient of the George C. Carens Award as Rookie of the Year. Mottau ranked second among BC defensemen with 18 assists and 23 points.

New Hampshire sophomore forward Jason Krog was honored with the Paul Hines Award as Most Improved Player. Krog increased his rookie totals of four goals and 24 points to 23 goals and 67 points this season.

Travis Dillabough of Providence was named the winner of the Frank Jones Award as the Best Defensive Forward. The senior forward received the same honor from Hockey East and recorded totals of 13 goals and 21 points.

Senior defenseman Rick Schuhwerk of Northeastern received the Joseph Tomasello Award as Unsung Hero. He captained the Huskies and finished with two goals and 14 points.

Medford Square Sporting Goods owner Tony Lucci is the recipient of the Sheaffer Pen Award for contribution to New England hockey.

The award as ECAC East Player of the Year was shared by Colby forward Dan Lavergne and Middlebury defenseman Sebastian Bilodeau. Williams’ David Haimson received the ECAC East Rookie of the Year.

Named as the ECAC North Player of the Year was Dan Genatossio of Fitchburg State. John Gurskis of St. Michael’s was the ECAC Central Player of the Year, while the ECAC South Co-Players of the Year were Matt Goodrich of Quinnipiac and Chris McMahon of Skidmore.

The writers also honored three coaches this season. Merrimack coach Ron Anderson received the Clark Hodder Award as New England Division I Coach of the Year. Norwich’s Mike McShane was named as the ECAC East-Koho Coach of the Year, and St. Michael’s Lou DiMasi was the ECAC North-Central-South Coach of the Year.