CCHA All-Academic Team Chosen

Three repeat selections lead the 1997-98 CCHA All-Academic team announced by the league Wednesday, as Michigan State’s Tyler Harlton, Notre Dame’s Steve Noble and Western Michigan’s Jeff Rucinski all return to the team.

Rucinski’s selection marks the 14th consecutive season that a Western Michigan student-athlete has been a member of the team, the longest active streak for any CCHA institution. The complete roster, with school, year and major, is as follows:

Brett Colborne  Ferris State        Senior, Business Administration
Chris Fox Michigan Senior, Anthropology & Zoology
Tyler Harlton Michigan State Senior, Political Theory
Steve Noble Notre Dame Senior, Finance
Jeff Rucinski Western Michigan Senior, Finance
Curtis Sheptak Northern Michigan Senior, Accounting

Receiving honorable mention were Lyle Andrusiak (NMU), Matt Barnes (WMU), Jeff Blashill (FSU), Dan Cousineau (OSU), Aniket Dhadphale (UND), Dave Faulkner (BGSU), Matt Herr (Michigan), Shawn Horcoff (MSU), Joel Irwin (FSU), Forrest Karr (UND), Eric Meloche (OSU), Kevin O’Keefe (MSU), Trevor Prior (Miami) and Ryan Root (OSU).

To be eligible for CCHA All-Academic team consideration, a player must be at least a sophomore, and have a 3.00 grade-point average on a 4.00 scale. The team is voted on by the faculty athletic representatives of the 11 member institutions, considering both academic and athletic achievement. Players receiving the top six vote totals are honored as first team members, with all others receiving votes earning honorable mention. 23 additional players received special-mention honors for a nomination.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here