Hobey Baker Finalists Announced

At a news conference held today here, award foundation officials announced the 10 finalists for the 1999 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, presented annually to college hockey’s most outstanding player.

The finalists were determined by a vote of head hockey coaches from all Division I NCAA schools, and are listed below in alphabetical order:

Name            Yr  Pos  School
Jason Blake Sr F North Dakota
Hugo Boisvert Jr F Ohio State
Brian Gionta So F Boston College
Jeff Hamilton Jr F Yale
Eric Heffler Sr G St. Lawrence
Steve Kariya Sr F Maine
Jason Krog Sr F New Hampshire
Michel Larocque Sr G Boston University
Brian Swanson Sr F Colorado College
Mike York Sr F Michigan State

The names of the finalists will be advanced to the 18-member Hobey Baker selection committee, which will determine the 1999 recipient. The award will be announced at the Anaheim Hilton, Friday, Apr. 2, the off day of the 1999 NCAA championships.