Hobey Baker Finalists Named

Defending winner Ryan Miller leads the list of 2002 Hobey Baker Memorial Award finalists, announced today.

Each year, the top college hockey player in the U.S. is presented the Hobey Baker Award. The finalists are determined by a ballot of all 60 Division I college hockey coaches and by a fan vote.

The award winner will be announced on Friday, April 5, 2002 at 1:30 p.m. from St. Paul, Minn. during the NCAA Frozen Four championship tournament. A selection committee of 24 members and fan vote (voteforhobey.com) will determine the winner.

Alphabetically, here are the 2002 Hobey Baker Award Finalists:

Ryan Carter, Iona, F, Sr., Ft. Nelson, B.C.
For the second time in his career, Carter led the Gaels and the MAAC conference in scoring bagging 18 goals and 25 assists in 33 games. In the process, he became the all-time career leader in points in the MAAC. The tri-captain saw plenty of ice including special teams duty.

Marc Cavosie, Rensselaer, F, Jr., Cohoes, N.Y.
Leading his team in all offensive categories with 22 goals and 26 assists, Cavosie also led the ECAC in points and assists while finishing second in goal scoring. The ECAC Player of the Year finished fifth in the nation in points per game and had a 17-game point streak earlier in the season.

Rob Collins, Ferris State, F, Sr., Kitchener, Ont.
Becoming the first Bulldog to lead the CCHA in scoring, Collins notched 15 goals and 33 assists, putting together 15 multiple-point games. He finished third in the nation in assists per game while earning First Team all-CCHA honors in spearheading the Ferris State offense.

Wade Dubielewicz, Denver, G, Jr., Invermere, B.C.
Helping guide the Pioneers to their first WCHA title in 15 years, Dubielewicz was named Goalie of the Year in the WCHA for the second straight season. His .943 save percentage led the nation and set a league record. The First Team WCHA goalie won Goalie of the Year honors for the second straight season. His win percentage of .857 also led the nation.

Jim Fahey, Northeastern, D, Sr., Milton, Mass.
Not only was he the only defenseman in the nation to lead his team in scoring, Fahey topped all blueliners in the nation in points. He is only the second Northeastern player to be a top 10 candidate while setting several school records. He was a First Team Hockey East all-star.

Mark Hartigan, St. Cloud, F, Jr., Fort St. John, B.C.
As St. Cloud’s first-ever Hobey candidate, Hartigan had a stellar season leading the nation in goals, points and shorthanded goals. Hartigan posted 37 goals and 38 assists including tying a WCHA record with 4 goals in one period. He was named the WCHA Player of the Year.

Darren Haydar, New Hampshire, F, Sr., Milton, Ont.
For five straight years, a Wildcat player has been a Hobey finalist. Haydar finished third in the nation in points with 70 on 30 goals and 40 assists. His 11 power-play goals were tied for fourth nationally. The Hockey East Player of the Year had a 17-game point streak generating 42 points.

Jordan Leopold, Minnesota, D, Sr., Robbinsdale, Minn.
A Hobey finalist for the second straight year, Leopold collected 19 goals and 25 assists in 39 games, becoming the nation’s highest goal scoring defender. The All-American is second in the nation in points by a defenseman and was named WCHA Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season.

Ryan Miller, Michigan State, G, Jr., E. Lansing, Mich.
Last year’s Hobey winner could become the first two-time recipient. Miller again posted excellent numbers going 25-7-5, earning eight shutouts, padding his career NCAA record of 26. The CCHA Goalie of the Year led the league in all major goalie categories while his 1.75 GAA and .937 save percentage ranked third nationally. He led the nation in wins and shutouts.

Doug Murray, Cornell, D, Jr., Bromma, Sweden
As ECAC champions, Cornell was the top defensive team in the nation; third in the nation in penalty killing and fifth in power play due to Murray’s contributions. His 30 points led all ECAC defenseman in scoring. Murray was named Ivy League Player of the Year for his efforts.

Following the award winner announcement on April 5th, a banquet honoring the Hobey Baker Award winner will take place Friday, April 12th in St. Paul.

By conference, the WCHA has three candidates while Hockey East, the ECAC and the CCHA each placed two members. The MAAC had its first-ever Hobey finalist. Four forwards, four defensemen and two goalies make up the on-ice mix, which includes five Canadians, four Americans and one from Sweden.