2002 Penrose Finalists Announced

Two-time winner Jack Parker of Boston University is again a finalist for the 2002 Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the nation’s top coach by the American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA). The finalists are automatically determined by selecting the top vote-getters from the conference coach of the year balloting, and the Frozen Four coaches.

Other past winners among the finalists are George Gwozdecky (Denver), Dick Umile (New Hampshire) and Don Lucia (Minnesota).

The other finalists are: Guy Gadowsky (Alaska-Fairbanks), Red Berenson (Michigan), John Hill (Alaska-Anchorage), Paul Pearl (Holy Cross), Rand Pecknold (Quinnipiac), Mike Schafer (Cornell), Tom Serratore (Bemidji State), Don Vaughan (Colgate), Tim Whitehead (Maine) and Bill Wilkinson (Wayne State).

Last year’s winner was Dean Blais of North Dakota. This year’s winner will be announced in early April, and presented at the AHCA convention in Naples, Fla. on April 27.