UMD Heads Up Four-Team Women’s NCAA Field

Two-time defending national champion Minnesota-Duluth earned the top seed for the women’s Frozen Four, announced Sunday evening by the NCAA selection committee.

The Bulldogs will attempt to win a third straight title on home ice, as this year’s Frozen Four will be played at the Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center in Duluth, Minn.

UMD, the WCHA regular-season and tournament champion, will play No. 4 seed Dartmouth in the second semifinal at 8 p.m. ET on Friday, March 21. Dartmouth ensured its bid to the tournament by beating Harvard 7-2 in the ECAC championship game Sunday.

No. 2 seed Harvard, the ECAC regular-season champion, will face third-seeded Minnesota in the first semifinal at 5 p.m.

The winners of the two semifinals will meet for the national championship Sunday, March 23, at 5 p.m. A third-place game will be begin at 1:30 p.m.