Women’s COTY Finalists Named

All four coaches of Frozen Four teams were among the eight finalists for the women’s Division I Coach of The Year. Minnesota-Duluth’s Shannon Miller, Harvard’s Katey Stone, Minnesota’s Laura Halldorson and Dartmouth’s Judy Oberting are all vying for the award, as well as the national championship. Halldorson, Oberting and Stone are all past winners of the award, Halldorson twice.

Three first-year coaches are included as well, with Hilary Witt of Yale, Mark Johnson of Wisconsin, and Brian McCloskey of New Hampshire all guiding their teams to exeptional seasons.

The winner will be announced at the American Hockey Coaches Association Coach of the Year Banquet, held in Naples, Florida on April 26. Last year’s winner was Halldorson of Minnesota. Coaches eligible for the award include winners of conference Coach of the Year awards and the coaches of the NCAA Frozen Four participants.

Finalists for the 2003 Women’s Ice Hockey University Division Coach of the Year

Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
Mark Johnson, Wisconsin
Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
Hilary Witt, Yale
Katey Stone, Harvard
Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
Mike Sisti, Mercyhurst
Brian McCloskey, New Hampshire

Previous Winners of the Women’s University Division Coach of the Year Award

1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota