Minnesota’s Halldorson Named Women’s D-I Coach of the Year

Laura Halldorson, who led Minnesota team to a 30-4-2 record and the NCAA championship, was named the Women’s Division I Coach of the Year Wednesday by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

This marks the third time in the seven-year history of the award that the Princeton graduate has been honored.

In seven years as coach at Minnesota, Halldorson has compiled a 190-42-18 record, and with a prior coaching experience at Colby College stands at 249-117-27 for her career.

Minnesota earned its first NCAA title in Providence this year, but Halldorson’s team has been a participant in three of the four years of the tournament’s history.

Prior to the NCAA sponsoring the tournament, Minnesota won the American Women’s College Hockey Alliance title in 2000. Hockey is the only women’s sport at Minnesota to win a national title.

AHCA Women’s Division I Coach of the Year Winners
2004 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2003 Shannon Miller, Minnesota-Duluth
2002 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota
2001 Paul Flanagan, St. Lawrence
2000 Judy Oberting, Dartmouth
1999 Katey Stone, Harvard
1998 Laura Halldorson, Minnesota