FF Bids Narrowed to 6

The NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee has named six finalists to host the Men’s Frozen Four from 2009-2011.

They are:

Boston – TD Bank North Garden (host: Hockey East/Boston University)
Detroit – Ford Field (CCHA) (2010-2011 only)
Philadelphia, Pa. – Wachovia Center (MAAC/Canisius/Niagara)
St. Paul, Minn. – Xcel Energy Center (University of Minnesota)
Tampa, Fla. – St. Pete Times Forum (Alabama-Huntsville)
Washington, D.C. – MCI Center (Atlantic Hockey/Naval Academy)

“The field of prospective hosts for this event was a very impressive one. Each year the selection process gets more and more competitive due to the popularity of the Frozen Four, and this year was certainly no exception,” said committee chair Wayne Dean. “We are very excited about the six finalists and look forward to visiting each site. We also look forward to their presentations to the entire committee at our June meeting. I am sure the final selections will be just as tough as the establishment of the list of finalists.”

A total of 13 bids were received. Among those ruled out: Sunrise, Fla.; San Antonio; Minneapolis; Columbus, Ohio; Auburn Hills, Mich.; and Buffalo, N.Y.

Dean and a member of the NCAA staff will take site visits to all six locations prior to all cities doing formal presentations to the entire Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Committee, June 7-10, in Indianapolis. The committee will then forward its recommendations for 2009, 2010 and 2011 to the Division I Championships/Competition Cabinet to approve during its September 20-22, meeting in Indianapolis.

The next three Frozen Fours have already been determined. The 2006 event will take place at the Bradley Center in Milwaukee, with the 2007 finals held at the Savvis Center in St. Louis, and the 2008 Men’s Frozen Four at the Pepsi Center in Denver.