Duluth, Boston To Host ’08, ’09 Women’s Frozen Fours

Duluth, Minn., and Boston have been awarded the 2008 and 2009 women’s Frozen Fours, the NCAA announced Wednesday.

The NCAA Women’s Ice Hockey Committee named Minnesota-Duluth the host of the 2008 event, to be held at the Duluth Entertainment and Convention Center March 21-23. UMD will host the women’s Frozen Four for the second time, coming after 2003 when the Bulldogs won the national title before a sellout crowd on home ice.

“Duluth has already hosted one of the most successful Women’s Frozen Fours to date,” said Steve Metcalf, chair of the committee and associate athletics director at New Hampshire. “The committee is confident they will have the same success in 2008.”

“We are extremely excited that we’ll once again be hosting an NCAA national championship,” said UMD athletics director Bob Nielson. “The Women’s Frozen Four brings an enormous amount of attention and exposure to UMD and the Duluth community. We look forward to working with the DECC and the city in making this another first-class event.”

In 2009, Boston University will welcome the Frozen Four March 20-22 to Agganis Arena, the first time BU will host. The Terrier women’s program is currently playing its inaugural season at the Division I level.

“Boston University has a long history of hockey and a fabulous new arena to host the championship,” Metcalf said. “The surrounding area is a hotbed of college hockey programs which brings forth a strong fan base.

“The committee was excited about not only the numbers of bids we received but also the quality of those bids,” added Metcalf. “The selection for these two sites was the most difficult the committee has faced.”

“Being awarded the 2009 NCAA Women’s Frozen Four is yet another step forward for Boston University athletics and the new women’s ice hockey program,” said Mike Lynch, Boston University’s director of athletics. “As the Terrier women’s ice hockey team has showcased in the first half of its highly successful inaugural season, Boston University is continuously striving for excellence in all areas and will work hard to create an exciting tournament in 2009.”

The 2006 championship will be held March 24-26 at Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis, and in 2007 the women’s Frozen Four heads for the Olympic Center in Lake Placid, N.Y.