Dartmouth’s Ouellette Named Ivy League Player Of The Year

Dartmouth senior forward Mike Ouellette, who helped the Big Green to its first-ever ECACHL regular-season championship, was named Ivy League Player of the Year Wednesday.

Ouellette accumulated 31 points this season on 11 goals and 20 assists. A second-team All-Ivy selection last season, he finished the season third in the Ivy League in points per game. He was the only unanimous selection to the first team.

Joining Ouellette as first-team forwards were Dartmouth sophomore David Jones, Harvard junior Kevin Du and Cornell senior Matt Moulson.

Moulson, a unanimous selection to the first team last season, led the league this season in scoring with 16 goals and 17 assists and was sixth in the nation in power-play goals with 11. Jones led the Big Green in scoring and finished second in the Ivy League with 16 goals and 16 assists, while Du was No. 7 in scoring with eight goals and 19 assists.

The junior class dominated the first-team defensive selections, with Dartmouth’s Grant Lewis, Cornell’s Ryan O’Byrne and Harvard’s Dylan Reese filling the roster.

Lewis finished the regular season with four goals and 10 assists while anchoring the Big Green defense. O’Byrne led the Big Red to the league’s best scoring defense of 2.17 goals per game, while Reese dished out 11 assists and added two goals for the Crimson defense.

Princeton goalie Eric Leroux was selected in net for the first team. Leroux had a league-leading .917 save percentage and finished the season with 622 saves. The senior is one of seven finalists for the 2006 Hockey Humanitarian Award.

Yale freshman forward Mike Karwoski was selected as the Ivy League Rookie of the Year. Karwoski had four goals and 12 assists in the regular season for the Bulldogs, putting him second in the league for freshman scoring.

2006-06 All-Ivy League Teams

First Team
Forward: Kevin Du, Harvard, Jr. (Spruce Grove, Alb.)
Forward: David Jones, Dartmouth, So. (North Vancouver, B.C.)
Forward: Matt Moulson, Cornell, Sr. (Mississauga, Ont.)
Forward: Mike Ouellette, Dartmouth, Sr. (Kamloops, B.C.)
Defense: Grant Lewis, Dartmouth, Jr. (Upper Saint Clair, Pa.)
Defense: Ryan O’Byrne, Cornell, Jr. (Victoria, B.C.)
Defense: Dylan Reese, Harvard, Jr. (Pittsburgh, Pa.)
Goalie: Eric Leroux, Princeton, Sr. (London, Ont.)

Second Team
Forward: Grant Goeckner-Zoeller, Princeton, Jr. (Los Angeles, Calif.)
Forward: Jeff Hristovski, Yale, Sr. (Concord, Ont.)
Defense: Bill LeClerc, Yale, Jr. (Acton, Mass.)
Goalie: David McKee, Cornell, Jr. (Irving, Texas)