Agosta Takes Top CHA Women’s Awards

Mercyhurst freshman forward Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ontario) was a double winner at the 2007 College Hockey America Women’s Awards Banquet held this evening at The Dome at the RMU Island Sports Center.

Agosta was selected as both the CHA Player of the Year and the CHA Rookie of the Year in voting of the league’s head coaches.

Agosta played in 32 of the Lakers 34 regular-season contests scoring a school-record 66 points on team-best totals of 34 goals and 32 assists. She is currently second in the nation in both points per game (2.06) and goals per game (1.06), while ranking tied-for-first in power-play goals (16). Agosta is first in the country in both game-winning goals (9) and shorthanded goals (5).

Niagara’s Margot Page and Wayne State’s Jim Fetter were voted co-Coaches of the Year. Page returned to the Purple Eagles bench this past fall after spending the 2005-06 campaign as an assistant coach with Canada’s Olympic team. She helped NU improve its conference winning percentage by 17 percent and its goal differential in the league by four. Fetter,
the 2005-06 CHA Coach of the Year, led the Warriors to its second consecutive second-place CHA finish. Despite having a blueline corps consisting of three rookies, Wayne State matched its conference win total from a year ago.

Mercyhurst senior forward Julia Colizza (Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario) and Niagara senior goaltender Allison Rutledge (London, Ontario) were voted co-CHA Student-Athletes of the Year in balloting by the conference athletic directors.

Colizza, an early childhood education major, has recorded 124 points in 144 career games while maintaining high academic standards. A Second Team All-CHA selection this year, Colizza has been a three-time CHA All-Academic team honoree. Rutledge, a social studies education major, has appeared in 114 games between the pipes for the Purple Eagles. She has recorded five shutouts and a .923 save percentage while facing an average of 33 shots per 60 minutes. A three-time CHA All-Academic team selection, Rutledge was a unanimous selection to the All-CHA First Team for the
2006-07 campaign.

College Hockey America will also be presenting a check for $5,280.00 to the Glimmer of Hope Foundation in Pittsburgh prior to the opening face-off of Saturday’s championship game. All four institutions participated in the “Skate for the Cure” to raise funds and awareness for Breast Cancer Research.

First Team All-CHA

Meghan Agosta*, Mercyhurst, Freshman, Forward, Ruthven, Ontario
Melissa Boal*, Wayne State ,Sophomore, Forward, Pakenham, Ontario
Valerie Chouinard*, Mercyhurst, Sophomore, Forward, Matane, Quebec
Shannon Moulson*, Niagara, Junior, Defense, Mississauga, Ontario
Natalie Payne, Mercyhurst, Sophomore, Defense, Mississauga, Ontario
Ashley Pendleton, Mercyhurst, Senior, Defense, Orton, Ontario
Allison Rutledge*, Niagara, Senior, Goaltender, London, Ontario

Second Team All-CHA

Julia Colizza, Mercyhurst, Senior, Forward, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Kristen Miles, Robert Morris, Sophomore, Forward, London, Ontario
Sam Poyton, Wayne State, Sophomore, Forward, Hamilton, Ontario
Ashley Riggs, Niagara, Sophomore, Forward, Pickering, Ontario
Tegan Schroeder, Wayne State, Freshman, Defense, Lumsden, Saskatchewan
Michelle Bonello, Mercyhurst, Senior, Defense, Mississauga, Ontario
Brianne McLaughlin, Robert Morris, Sophomore, Goaltender, Sheffield Village, Ohio


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here