POTY Kassel, Army Dominate Atlantic Hockey Awards

Army goaltender Josh Kassel was named player of the year in Atlantic Hockey at the league’s annual awards dinner held in Rochester. N.Y., site of this year’s AHA championship.

Kassel is the first goalie ever to win the award. He posted a 1.84 goals against average and a .927 save percentage, both tops in the league. His five shutouts give him nine for his career, tied for second in school history.

The junior from Greensburg, Pa., was a second-team choice as a goaltender last year, and this year earned first-team laurels along with his MVP award and the regular-season goaltending trophy. Kassel was a unanimous selection to the first team, along with forward Simon Lambert of RIT.

Kassel was named Goalie of the Week five times during the regular season and was once named the Player of the Week.

“This is a tremendous honor for Josh and a great honor for a goalkeeper, to be named the Player of the Year,” Army coach Brian Riley said. “Every time Josh steps on the ice, he gives you a chance to win and that’s all you can ask from a goaltender.”

Riley was named coach of the year for the third straight season after leading the Black Knights to a first-place regular-season finish, the first hockey championship of any kind in the program’s 105-year history.

Voting on league awards was done by league coaches prior to the beginning of the playoffs.

2007-08 Atlantic Hockey All-Conference Awards

All-Conference First Team
F Simon Lambert*, Sr., RIT
F Alexandre Parent, Sr., Sacred Heart
F Luke Flicek, Sr., Army
D Dan Ringwald, So., RIT
D Zach McKelvie, Jr., Army
G Josh Kassel*, Jr., Army
* – unanimous selection

All-Conference Second Team
F Owen Meyer, So., Army
F Ben Cottreau, Sr., Mercyhurst
F Bear Trapp, Jr., Sacred Heart
D Greg Flynn, Jr., Air Force
D Scott Marchesi, Sr., Sacred Heart
G Beau Erickson, So., Connecticut

All-Conference Third Team
F Eric Ehn, Sr., Air Force
F Brodie Sheahan, So., Holy Cross
F Jereme Tendler, Sr., AIC
D Matt Burke, Sr., Holy Cross
D Bobby Raymond, Jr., RIT
G Joe Calvi, Fr., Bentley

All-Rookie Team
F Erik Peterson, Bentley
F Vincent Scarsella, Canisius
F Everett Sheen, Holy Cross
D Mark Znutas, Holy Cross
D Jeff Terminesi, Mercyhurst
G Joe Calvi, Bentley

Player of the Year: Josh Kassel, Army
Rookie of the Year: Erik Peterson, Bentley
Coach of the Year: Brian Riley, Army
Best Defensive Forward: David Kasch, Canisius
Best Defensemen: Zach McKelvie, Army
Individual Sportsmanship Award: Alexandre Parent, Sacred Heart
Team Sportsmanship Award: Holy Cross
Regular-Season Scoring Trophy: Simon Lambert, RIT (28 GP, 19-19–38)
Regular-Season Goaltending Trophy: Josh Kassel, Army (24 GP, 1.75 GAA)
Regular-Season Champion: Army