D-III All-Americans Announced

Goaltender Kyle Jones of St. Norbert leads the field of 2007-2008 Division III All-Americans announced prior to the Division III championships, held this weekend at Herb Brooks Arena. Jones, a three-time All-American, was named the winner of the Sid Watson Award, given annually of the nation’s best Division III men’s hockey player. Norwich’s Rick Cleaver was named runner-up.

Jones, who will play in this weekend’s championships, is having one of the best seasons ever by a Division III goaltender. In 23 games this season, he has 1.18 goals against average and a save percentage of .945. Jones holds the NCAA Division III record for wins (85) and shutouts (23). He is the only Division III player selected to play in the annual “Skills Challenge” during the NCAA Division I Men’s Frozen Four in Denver, Colo.

Below are the All-American squads:

First Team East

Goalie Keith Longo, Jr., Hobart (Hopedale, Mass.)

Defense Arthur Fritch, Sr., Colby* (South Boston, Mass.)
Defense Tom Maldonado, Sr, Middlebury* (Bronx, N.Y.)
Forward Rick Cleaver, Sr., Norwich*@ (Parksville, British Columbia)
Forward T.J. Kelly, Sr., Colby, (Ridgefield, Conn.)
Forward Mike Richard, SR, Elmira (LaSalle, Quebec)
First Team West

Goalie Kyle Jones, Sr., St. [email protected]% (North Delta, British Columbia)
Defense Jim Henkemeyer, Sr., UW-River Falls* (St. Cloud, Minn.)
Defense Joe Long, Jr., Hamline (Dayton, Minn.)
Forward Marc Belanger, Sr., St. Norbert* (Nanaimo, British Columbia)
Forward T.J. Dahl, Sr., UW-River Falls* (Burnsville, Minn.)
Forward Dustin Fulton, Jr., Hamline (Brooklyn Park, Minn.)

Second Team East

Goalie Casey Tuttle, So, Elmira (Chelsea, Maine)
Defense Nic Dumoulin, Jr, Elmira (Prevost, Quebec)
Defesne Mike Westerman, Sr, Bowdoin (Ann Arbor, Mich.)
Forward Ryan Ellis, Jr., Oswego (Georgetown, Ontario)
Forward Nikita Kashirsky, Jr, Norwich (Moscow, Russia)
Forward Neil Trimm, Sr, Neumann* (Westmearth, Ontario)

Second Team West

Goalie Tyler Chestnut, So., St. Thomas (Faribault, Minn.)
Defense John Paulson, Sr., St. Olaf# (Eden Prairie, Minn.)
Defense Jack Wolgemuth, Jr., UW-Stout (Anchorage, Alaksa)
Forward Pat Borgestad, Sr., UW-River Falls (St. Paul, Minn.)
Forward Adam Krug, Jr., Adrian College (Livonia, Mich.)
Forward Nick Pernula, Sr, St. Thomas# (Osseo, Minn.)

* First Team in 2007; # Second Team in 2007; @ Second Team in 2006; % Second Team in 2005