Walter Brown Award Semifinalists Announced

Semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award, presented each year to the best American-born college hockey player from New England, were announced by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, the presenter of the award.

Sixteen players were nominated as semifinalists, including three from Northeastern and two from Boston University. Nominees included 12 forwards, three defensemen, and one goalie, with 11 players from Hockey East, four from ECAC Hockey and one from Atlantic Hockey.

Four nominees — Boston College senior forward Benn Ferriero, Providence senior defenseman Matt Taormina, New Hampshire sophomore forward James van Riemsdyk, and Massachusetts forward James Marcou — were finalists for the award last year. The 2008 winner was New Hampshire goaltender Kevin Regan.

Senior forward Dain Prewitt is the first-ever nominee from Bentley.

The 57th Walter Brown Award winner will be announced in March, after conference tournaments but prior to NCAA postseason play.

Walter Brown Award Nominees
Sean Backman, Yale, Jr F
Adam Estoclet, Dartmouth, So F
Kory Falite, Mass.-Lowell, Jr F
Benn Ferriero*, Boston College, Sr F
Matt Gilroy, Boston University, Sr D
Ryan Ginand, Northeastern, Sr F
Chris Higgins, Boston University, Sr F
Peter Lenes, Vermont, Sr F
Louis Liotti, Northeastern, Sr D
James Marcou*, Massachusetts, So F
David Marshall, Quinnipiac, Sr F
Dain Prewitt, Bentley, Sr F
Dan Rosen^, Brown, Jr G
Matt Taormina*, Providence, Sr D
James van Riemsdyk*, New Hampshire, So F
Joe Vitale, Northeastern, Sr F

* – 2008 nominee
^ – 2007 nominee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here