13 of 23 on Women’s National Team Played Collegiately Last Season

Three-time Olympians Jenny Potter and Angela Ruggiero were announced Monday as part of the 23-player United States Women’s National Team roster.

PICTORIAL: The U.S. Women’s National Team

The team, based in the Minneapolis area, will take part in a 10-game, nine-city national tour ahead of the 2010 Olympic Games in Vancouver.

Twenty-one players will make the final roster for the Olympics.

Thirteen of those on the 23-player roster played collegiately last season; nine still have eligibility remaining.

Another nine of the 13 were from either Wisconsin (goaltender Jessie Vetter, forwards Meghan Duggan, Angie Keseley, Hilary Knight, Erika Lawler) or Minnesota (defender Rachael Drazan, forwards Jocelyne Lamoureux, Monique Lamoureux, Gigi Marvin). The Lamoureux twins have since transferred to North Dakota.

Robert Morris goaltender Brianne McLaughlin, Boston College goaltender Molly Schaus, New Hampshire defender Kacey Bellamy and BC forward Kelli Stack also are among those on the roster who played in college last season.

The team was selected after last week’s 41-player USA Hockey Women’s National Festival.

“Although this is a tough day, it’s also an exciting day,” said U.S. coach Mark Johnson, who is on sabbatical from Wisconsin to lead the Americans. “We put a lot of time, energy and thought into the selection of this team and we ended up with a great mix of experienced Olympic veterans, as well as players who are looking to compete in the Games for the first time. This process started three years ago and the experience the players have gained during that time will help them in our preparations as we move toward Vancouver.”

Two-time Olympians Natalie Darwitz and Julie Chu and 2006 Olympians Caitlin Cahow and Molly Engstrom return to the squad.

The full roster, with colleges (x-indicates eligibility remaining):

Goaltenders: Brianne McLaughlin (Robert Morris-x), Molly Schaus (Boston College-x), Jessie Vetter (Wisconsin).

Defenders: Kacey Bellamy (New Hampshire), Caitlin Cahow (Harvard), Lisa Chesson (Ohio State-x), Rachael Drazan (Minnesota), Molly Engstrom (Wisconsin), Angela Ruggiero (Harvard), Kerry Weiland (Wisconsin).

Forwards: Julie Chu (Harvard), Natalie Darwitz (Minnesota), Meghan Duggan (Wisconsin-x), Angie Keseley (Wisconsin), Hilary Knight (Wisconsin-x), Jocelyne Lamoureux (Minnesota/North Dakota-x), Monique Lamoureux (Minnesota/North Dakota-x), Erika Lawler (Wisconsin), Gigi Marvin (Minnesota), Jenny Potter (Minnesota-Duluth), Kelli Stack (Boston College-x), Karen Thatcher (Providence), Jinelle Zaugg-Siergiej (Wisconsin).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here