CCHA doles out nine individual awards

Miami senior forward Andy Miele was named the CCHA player of the year at the annual CCHA awards banquet on Thursday at Detroit’s historic Fox Theatre.

Notre Dame’s Jeff Jackson was named coach of the year and Irish forward T.J. Tynan earned rookie of the year honors.

Miele led the nation in scoring (21-44-65) and had points in 29 of 34 games, including 19 multiple-point outings, and captured the league’s scoring crown with the most points by a CCHA player since the 1991-92 season. Miele was the first scoring champion in CCHA history with more assists than any other player had points.  

Jackson filled out a lineup that featured 10 freshmen most nights, but managed to double his team’s conference win total to 18 and score 41 more goals than a season ago on the way to a second-place CCHA finish, jumping seven spots from the 2009-10 campaign.
Tynan led all freshmen in the CCHA, and the entire nation, with 19 goals and 46 points, including 14 multiple-point games. 

RBC Player of the Year: Andy Miele, Miami
Coach of the Year: Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame
Rookie of the Year: T.J. Tynan, Notre Dame
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Carter Camper, Miami
Terry Flanagan (perseverance): Kevin Petovello, Alaska
Ilitch Humanitarian: Trevor Nill, Michigan State
Best Offensive Defenseman: Torey Krug, Michigan State
Best Defensive Defenseman: Sean Lorenz, Notre Dame
Best Defensive Forward: Carl Hagelin, Michigan


  1. Best Goaltender isn’t an award that is voted on. It is merely given to the goalie with the lowest goals against average that has played at least 50% of his games.

    Pat Nagle is by far the best goalie in the CCHA.

    Hunwick just has better players in front of him.

  2. No offense to Mr. Jackson, who did an excellent job with an established program and top recruits, but the voters missed the boat in not selecting the REAL coach of the year – Jeff Blashill. The turnaround job that he did with WMU is worthy of far more than “honorable mention”.

  3. Jeff Jackson, the coach of the year, lost 6-2 today. A few hours later, Jeff Blashill’s Broncos beat Michigan 5-2. Whose #1 seed do you have to beat to get some respect around here?

    No disrespect to Notre Dame, they had a great season, but as a Junior at WMU who has been following the team for 3 years, the amount that Coach Blashill has done in his rookie season to completely resurrect the team and, just as importantly, the culture in Kalamazoo, is completely astounding.

    I look forward to being at the Joe tomorrow.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here