Spencer Penrose finalists named

Eight coaches have been named finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the NCAA Division I men’s coach of the year.

The nominees represent any coach who won or shared coach of the year honors in his conference this past season, along with coaches whose teams have advanced to the NCAA semifinals.

Of this year’s finalists, five were past recipients.

The award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday, April 30.

The winner will be announced following the Frozen Four.

Spencer Penrose Award Finalists
Red Berenson, Michigan*
Dean Blais, Nebraska-Omaha*
Dave Hakstol, North Dakota
Jeff Jackson, Notre Dame*
Nate Leaman, Union
Paul Pearl, Holy Cross
Scott Sandelin, Minnesota-Duluth*
Jerry York, Boston College*

* Past Spencer Penrose Award Winner