Kazmaier Award nominees announced, including 12 repeat nominees

A total of 30 players are among the list of nominees for the 15th annual Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, presented annually to the top player in Division I women’s hockey.

Held in conjunction with the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four, the award will be awarded at a brunch ceremony on March 17 at the Greysolon Ballroom in Duluth, Minn.

All 34 D-I women’s coaches were asked to nominate players for the award and each player had to be nominated by at least two coaches in order for her to make the official nomination list.

The 34 coaches will select the top 10 finalists from among the group of 30 nominees, with the announcement taking place on March 1. A 13-member selection committee will choose the three finalists (announced March 8), as well as the award recipient.

Twelve of the nominated players were also nominated in 2011, including top 10 finalists Laura Fortino (Cornell), Haley Irwin (Minnesota-Duluth), Rebecca Johnston (Cornell), Hilary Knight (Wisconsin) and Noora Räty (Minnesota), who was also a top 3 finalist in 2010. Bailey Bram (Mercyhurst) and Florence Schelling (Northeastern) were top 10 finalists in 2010.

Christine BestlandFSo.Mercyhurst
Blake BoldenDJr.Boston College
Megan BozekDJr.Minnesota
Bailey BramFSr.Mercyhurst
Alex CarpenterFFr.Boston College
Kendall CoyneFFr.Northeastern
Brianna DeckerFJr.Wisconsin
Jillian DempseyFJr.Harvard
Laura FortinoDJr.Cornell
Thea ImbrognoFSo.Robert Morris
Haley IrwinFSr.Minnesota-Duluth
Brianne JennerFSo.Cornell
Rebecca JohnstonFSr.Cornell
Amanda KesselFSo.Minnesota
Hilary KnightFSo.Wisconsin
Jocelyne LamoureuxFJr.North Dakota
Monique Lamoureux-KollsF/DJr.North Dakota
Josephine PucciDJr.Harvard
Jamie Lee RattrayFSo.Clarkson
Noora RatyGJr.Minnesota
Alex RigsbyGSo.Wisconsin
Lauriane RougeauDJr.Cornell
Kelly SabatineFJr.St. Lawrence
Florence SchellingGSr.Northeastern
Jen SchoullisFSr.Minnesota
Natalie SpoonerFSr.Ohio State
Kelley SteadmanFJr.Mercyhurst
Zuzana TomcikovaGSr.Bemidji State
Rebecca VintFFr.Robert Morris
Jenn WakefieldFSr.Boston University