Amherst takes top NESCAC men’s, women’s awards

Amherst swept the NESCAC player of the year awards as senior goalie Jonathan La Rose is the men’s honoree and junior defender Geneva Lloyd won top honors for the women’s conference.

La Rose has been the foundation for a remarkable season for the Lord Jeffs, as they rolled to the top seed in this year’s NESCAC championship with a 17-1-0 conference mark. He is also the first goaltender to ever win the league’s top honor.

La Rose leads the NESCAC in every major goaltending category, boasting a 1.51 goals-against average, a .943 save percentage that is the best in the nation, a 16-1-1 overall record, and five shutouts.

Through 24 games this season, Lloyd leads all league blueliners in scoring and ranks second among her teammates with 23 points on nine goals and 14 assists. Of her nine tallies, seven have come on the power play.

Bowdoin forward John McGinnis claimed top rookie honors, while Tufts’ Brian Murphy was named coach of the year for the men.

On the women’s side, Wesleyan forward Jordan Schildhaus was named rookie of the year and Carson Duggan from Trinity was named top coach.

The All-Conference teams are below.

NESCAC Men’s All-Conference First Team

Mike DiMareFSo.Hamilton
Colin DowneyFSo.Bowdoin
Nik TasiopoulosFSo.Wesleyan
Jordan LalorDSr.Bowdoin
Justin TroianiDSr.Williams
Jonathan La RoseGSr.Amherst

NESCAC Men’s All-Conference Second Team

Kyle GallegosFSo.Tufts
Charlie StraussFSr.Middlebury
Keith BuehlerFSo.Wesleyan
Mike BaranDSr.Amherst
Mike DeMayoDSr.Trinity
Scott BarchardGSr.Tufts

NESCAC Women’s All-Conference First Team

Lauren GreerFJr.Middlebury
Kayte HoltzFJr.Bowdoin
Sara UgaldeFSo.Middlebury
Geneva LloydDJr.Amherst
Madison StyrbickiDJr.Middlebury
Alexa PujolGSo.Trinity

NESCAC Women’s All-Conference Second Team

Courtney DumontFSo.Connecticut College
Josie FisherFSr.Amherst
Katie ZimmermanFJr.Hamilton
Ashley SalernoDSo.Amherst
Samantha WeinsteinDJr.Williams
Brianne WheelerGSo.Colby


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here