ECAC doles out women’s awards; Cornell’s Johnston named top player

Cornell senior forward Rebecca Johnston headlined the annual ECAC women’s hockey banquet Thursday night on the Cornell campus by winning her first player of the year award.

Other award winners included St. Lawrence coach Chris Wells (coach of the year), Cornell defenseman Lauriane Rougeau (best defensive defenseman), Dartmouth forward Reagan Fischer (tie – best defensive forward), Cornell forward Chelsea Karpenko (tie – best defensive forward), Cornell forward Jillian Saulnier (rookie of the year), Clarkson goalie Erica Howe (goaltender of the year) and Brown taking home the Skor Sports Trophy.

The three All-League Teams were also named, as was the All-Rookie Team.

ECAC Women First Team All-League

Jillian DempseyFHarvard
Rebecca JohnstonFCornell
Brianne JennerFCornell
Laura FortinoDCornell
Lauriane RougeauDCornell
Erica HoweGClarkson

ECAC Women Second Team All-League

Kelly SabatineFSt. Lawrence
Jillian SaulnierFCornell
Kelly BabstockFQuinnipiac
Josephine PucciDHarvard
Sasha NanjiDDartmouth
Rachel WeberGPrinceton

ECAC Women Third Team All-League

Rylee SmithFSt. Lawrence
Kelly FoleyFDartmouth
Lyndsey FryFHarvard
Regan BoultonDQuinnipiac
Brooke FernandezDSt. Lawrence
Aubree MooreGBrown

ECAC Women All-Rookie Team

Sarah RobsonFBrown
Eleeza CoxFRensselaer
Jillian SaulnierFCornell
Amanda BoulierDSt. Lawrence
Sarah EdneyDHarvard
Carmen MacDonaldGSt. Lawrence



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here