Walter Brown Award semifinalists named; 2012 winner Gensler again a nominee

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Monday the 16 NCAA Division I players semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award, given annually to the best American-born player in New England.

The award, established in 1953, is also the nation’s oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor.

“We feel that we’ve got a superb roster of semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award this year,” said Gridiron Club hockey awards committee chairman Tim Costello in a statement. “That said, there were many others in all three leagues whose play merited strong consideration. It’s never a simple task to evaluate all nominees and make a cut to a manageable number.”

Twelve teams are represented in the list of candidates that includes eight players from Hockey East, seven from the ECAC and one from Atlantic Hockey. Nine forwards, three goalies and four defensemen make up the nominees.

Bentley forward Brett Gensler, the lone AHA representative, won the award in 2012.

The finalists and winner of the award will be announced in March and the formal award presentation is scheduled for the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner in April.

Kenny AgostinoFJr.Yale
Anthony BorelliGSr.Brown
Mike CollinsFJr.Merrimack
Johnny GaudreauFSo.Boston College
Brett GenslerFJr.Bentley
Jon GilliesGFr.Providence
Kevin GoumasFJr.New Hampshire
Matt GrzelcykDFr.Boston University
Eric HartzellGSr.Quinnipiac
Mike KeenanDSr.Dartmouth
Jeremy LangloisFSr.Quinnipiac
Andrew MillerFSr.Yale
Chad RuhwedelDJr.Massachusetts-Lowell
Trevor Van RiemsdykDSo.New Hampshire
Jimmy VeseyFFr.Harvard
Steven WhitneyFSr.Boston College