Minnesota quartet headlines 2013 Kazmaier Award finalists

The USA Hockey Foundation on Thursday announced the top 10 finalists for the 2013 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, given annually to the top Division I women’s player.

Seven schools are represented among the finalists, including four from Minnesota. Three nominees were finalists in 2012 — Wisconsin’s Brianna Decker, Minnesota’s Amanda Kessel and North Dakota’s Jocelyne Lamoureux. Decker and Lamoureux were also part of the top three finalists in 2012 with Decker winning the award.

The winner will be presented at Minnesota’s McNamara Alumni Center on Saturday, March 23, in Minneapolis as part of the women’s Frozen Four.

2013 Patty Kazmaier Award Top 10 Finalists

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Megan BozekDSr.Minnesota
Hannah BrandtFFr.Minnesota
Alex CarpenterFSo.Boston College
Kendall CoyneFSo.Northeastern
Brianna DeckerFSr.Wisconsin
Jillian DempseyFSr.Harvard
Brianne JennerFJr.Cornell
Amanda KesselFJr.Minnesota
Jocelyne LamoureuxFSr.North Dakota
Noora RatyGSr.Minnesota