Bailen, DeKeyser return as All-Americans; St. Lawrence has three honored

Three St. Lawrence players were named 2012-13 All-Americans when the teams were released Friday.

Forward Kyle Flanagan was named to the East Region first team, while forward Greg Carey and defenseman George Hughes were on the East second team.

2013 NCAA Frozen Four

Follow all of our coverage at Frozen Four Central

NCAA tournament page, with bracket

Printable bracket (PDF)

Frozen Four schedule

Rensselaer defenseman Nick Bailen and Western Michigan defenseman Dan DeKeyser return as All-Americans, with Bailen moving from the second team in 2011 to the first team this year. DeKeyser was a second-team honoree in 2012 and 2013.

Frozen Four semifinalist St. Cloud State was one of three teams with a pair of players on the list — forward Drew LeBlanc on the West first team and defenseman Nick Jensen on the West second team.

Boston College had forwards Johnny Gaudreau and Steven Whitney as first-teamers in the East. North Dakota placed forward Danny Kristo on the West first team and Corban Knight on the West second team.

The full teams follow:

East first team

G Eric Hartzell, senior, Quinnipiac
D Nick Bailen, senior, Rensselaer
D Chad Ruhwedel, junior, Massachusetts-Lowell
D Trevor van Riemsdyk, sophomore, New Hampshire
F Kyle Flanagan, senior, St. Lawrence
F Johnny Gaudreau, sophomore, Boston College
F Steven Whitney, senior, Boston College

West first team

G Brady Hjelle, senior, Ohio State
D Nick Jensen, junior, St. Cloud State
D Jacob Trouba, freshman, Michigan
F Austin Czarnik, sophomore, Miami
F Danny Kristo, senior, North Dakota
F Drew LeBlanc, senior, St. Cloud State

East second team

G Jon Gillies, freshman, Providence
D Shayne Gostisbehere, sophomore, Union
D George Hughes, senior, St. Lawrence
F Greg Carey, junior, St. Lawrence
F Mike Collins, junior, Merrimack
F Andrew Miller, senior, Yale

West second team

G Juho Olkinuora, sophomore, Denver
D Dan DeKeyser, junior, Western Michigan
D Nate Schmidt, junior, Minnesota
F Corban Knight, senior, North Dakota
F Anders Lee, junior, Notre Dame
F Ryan Walters, junior, Nebraska-Omaha