Mercyhurst leads CHA year-end awards honorees

Mercyhurst led all schools with five individual winners as the CHA handed out its 2013-14 awards last Thursday.

Player of the year and offensive player of the year was Christine Bestland, followed by Molly Byrne as best defenseman and Shelby Bram as best defensive forward.

Michael Sisti took home coach of the year honors.

Ali Binnington from RIT was named goaltender of the year and Robert Morris’ Jessica Dodds was selected rookie of the year.

Penn State’s Taylor Gross earned the individual sportsmanship award and Penn State as a whole won the team sportsmanship award.

Two All-CHA Teams and an All-Rookie Team were also announced.

2014 All-CHA First Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Christine BestlandFMercyhurst
Rebecca VintFRobert Morris
Emily JanigaFMercyhurst
Nicole RenaultDSyracuse
Molly ByrneDMercyhurst
Jessica DoddsGRobert Morris

2014 All-CHA Second Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Brittany HowardFRobert Morris
Melissa PiacentiniFSyracuse
Christie CiceroFMercyhurst
Anneline LauziereDRobert Morris
Lindsay GriggDRIT
Nicole HensleyGLindenwood

2014 CHA All-Rookie Team

Player's NamePositionSchool
Brittany HowardFRobert Morris
Jessica SibleyFSyracuse
Laura BowmanFPenn State
Larissa MartyniukDSyracuse
Jillian SkinnerDMercyhurst
Jessica DoddsGRobert Morris